Advertising

Hair-Raising Subway Ad

Here’s a brilliant outdoor ad which has made the rounds for the last few days. It’s a clever and innovative outdoor ad from Sweden to promote a new line of hair care products by Apotek Hjärtat, a pharmacy brand.

Ad agency Akestam Holst and production company Stopp used interactive digital posters which recognised when trains would arrive at the station, then showed a woman’s hair blowing all around, as though windswept by the train. The tagline is ‘Make Your Hair Come Alive’. It’s a simple yet smart concept. It’s fresh, uses the element of surprise and it’s executed in a non-intrusive way.

Nearly two years ago, I came up with a very similar conceptual idea for Batiste, a dry shampoo product. It was an interactive billboard which triggered when someone walked past, the woman’s hair would begin to blow.  When I pitched the idea to my tutors, they loved it. I was told it hadn’t been done before but the technology was available to make it happen. Check out the full campaign idea over on my Behance portfolio, my work was uploaded November 2012.

Batiste Bilboard

It was one of the first briefs that I worked on for my advertising design course, which explains the basic execution. But the idea is there. I’m pretty pumped up to see it done live. The Swedish ad is clever in that the ad is trigger by the train, not just a human that walks past it. The location is perfect for the idea and really brings the idea to life. I think it’s time for me to revisit my concept and improve the execution, at the least I know my ideas have the potential to be real-world worthy.

Via.

Standard

Leave a Reply

